Main Course, Recipes

My Ma’s Baked Corn Casserole


As a child this was one dish, I devoured without any fuss. Corn was my favorite vegetable of all. This dish was my favorite of all and I REALLY had to learn this dish from my mother. Thank you Ma for handing down this recipe, I have mastered it and it happens to be a favorite potluck dish at many parties. My friends keep asking me for this recipe and now here it is, I am sharing your Baked Corn recipe with the world.

pexels-photo

 

The baked corn is simple and easy to cook, and it has a rich creamy texture. When garnished with grated cheese, it looks very appetizing. Ma always told me when it comes to preparing a dish “Presentation is everything”.


Ingredients

2 tablespoons butter

2 tablespoons flour

1 1/4 cup milk

¼ cup of grated cheddar cheese

2 cups fresh cut corn (may be thawed frozen)

½ cup finely chopped spring onions

Salt to taste

1 tsp black pepper

More cheese to garnish on top

Directions

1 Melt butter in saucepan and add flour and blend well. Slowly add milk and whisk constantly and bring to a boil.

2 Add in the spring onions, corn, salt and pepper to taste stirring constantly .Then add the grated cheese and cook for 5 mins

3 Pour into a casserole dish or individual ceramic ramekins, cover the top with grated cheese and bake at 350 degrees F for 25 to 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

