Main Course, Recipes

Tomato Rice

Do you like your rice just plain white and boring or infused with flavor? I like any kind rice that is infused with flavor. This tomato rice has a rich, tangy flavor that bursts into your mouth. When I make rice at home, I have to add something to it. Most of the time its peas and carrots, but sometimes I make lemon turmeric rice, tamarind infused rice, or spinach rice.

When I make the tomato rice, most of the time I will add a veggie juice like V8, just to sneak in some more nutrition (ssshhhh!). The veggie juice has more than just tomatoes, so if I have it in the house I will add it in.

Ingredients

1 cup brown basmati rice or white rice

1 tbsp. of coconut oil

2 bay leaves

1 cup water

1 cup tomato juice or V8 unsalted tomato juice

Salt to taste

Directions

1 Wash and soak the basmati rice overnight. If using white rice, it needs only ½ hour soaking.

2 Heat coconut oil in a pot and add the bay leaves fry for about a minute. Add the rice , salt and stir-fry to 3 mins.

3 Add in the water and tomato juice and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to a simmer, cover and cook for 20 mins

4 Fluff with a fork and enjoy!

P.S Enjoy it with my Spinach Kale Tofu recipe for a complete meal.

1 thought on “Tomato Rice”

Leave a Reply

