Main Course, Recipes

Crispy (Not Fried) Baked Okra /Nani’s Bhindi

Okra is one the most wanted vegetables with my girls. Rolled up inside warm phulkas (tortilla) it tastes like any comfort food would. My ma makes this all the time for my girls when they visit her in India. The girls ate it often while they were in India and would also ask their grandma (Nani) to make it so they could carry it back with them on the plane. The girls love okra, especially if it is their Nani’s recipe.

I have tried numerous times to make it as close to my ma’s, but for some reason I still cannot replicate the taste of ma’s crispy okra. One day I decided to try her recipe in the oven and my girls gave me a “very close ma, but no cookie yet”. I am happy with very close because I cannot add that love that Nani puts into her cooking when she cooks for her grandkids.


Ingredients

½ pound okra washed and dried

Salt to taste

½ tsp turmeric

½ tsp chili powder

½ tsp cumin powder

1 tbsp. oil

½ a cut lemon

Directions

1 Slice the okra length wise, into fours, making sure the stem is intact.

2 In a bowl mix the oil, salt, turmeric, chili powder, and cumin. Rub the marinade into the okra.

3 Spread the okra into a single layer on to a greased baking tray.

4 Bake for 40 mins at 450F checking every 20 mins.

5 Remove on to serving dish and sprinkle lemon juice over the okra.

 

Leave a Reply

