Desserts, Recipes

Vegan Carrot Pudding aka Gajjar ka Halwa in India

img_2734-3Carrots are a fibrous roots orange in color filled with a good source of potassium, beta carotene and antioxidants. They improve cholesterol levels and eye health. I remember my mother would feed me carrots often because I was the only child in the family with glasses and to improve my eye health she would feed me carrots and this is where I acquired my taste for carrots.  Now by the way I feed my kids carrots often for their eye health.

img_2735-1

My passion for cooking started when I first learned to cook Carrot pudding (Gajjar ka halwa) from my mom. When it came out  perfect with my mom’s guidance and hearing praises of how delicious it tasted. I knew cooking was the passion I want to follow.

Vegan Carrot Pudding aka Gajjar ka Halwa in India 

img_2737-1

Ingredients

6-7 Carrots Shredded

2 tbsp coconut oil

1 cup coconut milk

1 cup sugar

1 tsp cardamom powder

2 tbsp roasted sunflower seeds

Method: –

  1. Heat oil add the shredded carrots and sauté on medium heat till carrots become tender and soft. Add in the cardamom powder at this time.
  1. Add in the coconut milk and sauté till the milk dries, and then add in the sugar and cook till the it dries.

3 Finally when the pudding leaves oil you will know it is ready.  Add in the sunflower seeds. Serve hot.

Leave a comment